Skip to main content Skip to footer

Joint Chair in Women’s Studies Synopsis

The Joint Chair in Women’s Studies serves as a catalyst for developing new, collaborative, inter-disciplinary research initiatives on women’s issues.

Research and Development

The Joint Chair in Women’s Studies at Carleton University and the University of Ottawa was set up in 1985 by the Office of the Secretary of State as one of five regional Chairs in Women’s Studies across Canada in recognition of the need to promote the importance of research into women’s issues within academia and the community.

As a resource person on women’s issues and feminist research at both universities, the Joint Chair contributes to the enrichment of Women’s Studies, provides leadership for new research initiatives on feminist and interdisciplinary topics, fosters links among the two universities and the community, and establishes and maintains contact with local, regional, national and international feminist educational and community-based organizations. She also contributes to the dissemination of research results by hosting conferences at Carleton and the University of Ottawa.

The following women have been the incumbents of the Joint Chair in Women’s Studies since its establishment:

  • The Honourable Monique Bégin
  • Dr. Greta Hofmann Nemiroff
  • Dr. Pnina G. Abir-Am
  • Dr. Wendy Robbins
  • Dr. Ann Porter
  • Dr. Eva Rathgeber
  • Dr. Rajkumari Shanker
  • Dr. Agnes Whitfield
  • Dr. Lori Burns
  • Dr. Pamela Walker


Pauline Jewett Institute for Women’s and Gender Studies
(613) 520-6645


Sign up to receive stories via email

* indicates required