Friday, October 2, 2015

Two Carleton Professors Nominated for Ottawa Book Awards

book-iStock-435x290The City of Ottawa has announced that Carleton University’s Tim Cook and Andrew Cohen are finalists for the 2015 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa. Both are included in the English Non-Fiction category.

The winners of each category will be announced at an awards ceremony taking place at Ottawa City Hall on Wednesday, Oct. 21 at 5 p.m. in Jean Pigott Place. Each winner will receive $7,500, while finalists will receive $1,000.

The nominated books are:
Two Days in June: John F. Kennedy and the 48 Hours that Made History
Andrew Cohen
Published by Signal – McClelland & Stewart

Two Days in June is a mesmerizing hour-by-hour account that takes us into the Kennedy White House during the 48 hours that he delivered his two most significant speeches – ultimately changing the course of history.

Andrew Cohen is a professor of Journalism at Carleton University. He has written for the Ottawa Citizen, United Press International, Time, the Financial Post, Saturday Night and the Globe and Mail. He has written and co-edited six books, including While Canada Slept: How We Lost Our Place in the World, which was a national bestseller and a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Non-Fiction. At the Globe and Mail, he was a member of the Editorial Board, a columnist and foreign correspondent in Washington. Cohen has won two Canadian National Newspaper Awards, three National Magazine Awards, and the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal.

The Necessary War – Volume 1: Canadians Fighting The Second World War: 1939-1943
Tim Cook
Published by Penguin Canada Books Inc.
Tim Cook, Canada’s leading war historian, ventures deep into the Second World War in this epic two-volume story. Written in Cook’s compelling narrative style, this book shows in impressive detail how soldiers, airmen and sailors battled heroically. From the Western Front to the home front, Canadians served many roles in a war that had to be fought and won.

Tim Cook is the Great War historian at the Canadian War Museum. He won the 2008 J.W. Dafoe Prize for At the Sharp End and the 2009 Charles Taylor Prize forShock Troops. In 2013, he received the Pierre Berton Award for popularizing Canadian history. He lives in Ottawa with his family.

About the Ottawa Book Awards:
Celebrating its 30th anniversary, the awards recognize the top English and French books published in the past year by local authors. Finalists include 15 prominent authors from Ottawa’s thriving literary community.

Past winners of the Ottawa Book Awards include David O’Meara, Paul Wells, Jamieson Findlay, Elizabeth Hay, Roy MacGregor, Brian Doyle and Frances Itani. Past winners of the Prix du livre d’Ottawa include Philippe Bernier Arcand, Estelle Beauchamp, Daniel Poliquin, Margaret Michèle Cook and Maurice Henrie.

Media Inquiries:
Chris Cline
Media Relations Officer
Carleton University
613-520-2600, ext. 1391

Follow us on Twitter:
Need an expert? Go to:

Friday, October 2, 2015 in ,
Share: Twitter, Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *