Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Orders of Canada bestowed on three members of the Carleton community


A Carleton faculty member, alumna and former board member have been appointed to the Order of Canada. Their names were revealed when Governor General David Johnston recently announced this year’s appointments.

Appointees include:

  • Carleton faculty member Elaine Keillor for her contributions as a musicologist and historian of Canada’s musical heritage.
  • Carleton alumna Zita Cobb for her contributions as a social entrepreneur who has helped revive the unique rural Newfoundland communities of Fogo Island and Change Islands through innovative social engagement and geo-tourism.
  • Former Carleton board member Glenda Yeates for her service with the governments of Saskatchewan and Canada, notably for her immense contributions to maintaining and improving health care for Canadians.

The Order of Canada, one of the country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Over the last 49 years, more than 6,500 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

Wednesday, July 6, 2016 in ,
Share: Twitter, Facebook