Lenore Fahrig, Chancellor’s Professor in Carleton’s Department of Biology, has been elected to the United States National Academy of Sciences (NAS) as an international member.

Recently, the American scientific society and government advisory institution announced the election of 120 members and 23 international members. Each year, the NAS recognizes the distinguished and continuing achievements of researchers in science, as well as engineering and health.

Fahrig joins a prestigious list of 526 international members, alongside 2,565 active United States members. International members are nonvoting members with citizenship outside the United States.

Recently, Fahrig was also honoured with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada’s (NSERC) prestigious Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering in recognition of her work on wildlife habitat fragmentation and conservation.

Learn more about Professor Lenore Fahrig’s latest work in our newly published Research and International Review.

About the National Academy of Sciences:

The National Academy of Sciences is an institution established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by electing researchers to become members nationally and internationally.

Office of the Vice-President (Research and International)
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON, K1S 5B6, Canada
View Map

Phone: 613-520-7838