Researchers from all five Carleton University faculties are receiving a total of $1.2M in funding from Canada Foundation for Innovation’s John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF) for 13 innovative research projects.

The JELF recognizes innovative leaders or researchers with great potential for excellence in their field who are engaged in high-quality research development that meets international standards. Recipients’ awards range from $40K to $160K to advance their future research endeavours.

A big congratulations to the following researchers who have been awarded funding for their projects:

  • Avery Berman, Department of Physics: Quantitative Functional MRI Technologies for Assessing Brain Health in Depression
  • Bethany MacLeod, School of Linguistics and Language Studies: The Individual Variation Across the Lifespan Project: A Collaborative Examination of Language Acquisition and Use
  • Daniel Grégoire, Department of Chemistry: Mitigating the Negative Impacts of E-waste Through Sustainable Biotechnology
  • David Sabatino, Department of Chemistry: Carleton Tides Centre for Oligonucleotide and Peptide (Tides) Cancer Diagnostic and Therapeutic Agents
  • Dipto Sarkar, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies: EquiCon: Equitable Conservation for a Sustainable Future
  • Fateme Rajabiyazdi, Department of Systems and Computer Engineering: Multitouch Displays for Collaborative Clinical Decision-making
  • Hillary Maddin, Department of Earth Science: Development and Evolution of the Amphibian Skeleton
  • Koreen Millard, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies: Development of Innovative Methods in Emissions Estimations using Remote Sensing
  • Menno Oudhoff, Department of Health Sciences: Defining How We Establish and Maintain a Healthy Gut
  • Ravi Prakash, Department of Electronics: Aerosol Jet Printed Nano Sensor Platforms for Point-of-care Diagnostics, and Monitoring Health and Environment
  • Shawn Graham, Department of History: Cultural Heritage Informatics Collaboratory
  • Victoria McArthur, School of Journalism and Communication with co-applicant Rob Teather, School of Information Technology: MARVEL – The Mixed and Augmented Reality and Virtual Environments Lab
  • Yaxi Hu, Department of Chemistry: Application of Raman Spectroscopy to Improve Food Integrity

About Canada Foundation for Innovation’s John R. Evans Leaders Fund:
At a time of intense international competition, the John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF) is a critical strategic investment tool designed to help institutions attract and retain the very best of today’s and tomorrow’s researchers. The fund’s name pays tribute to the outstanding contributions of John R. Evans, the first Chair of the CFI’s Board of Directors.

Stay tuned to the CFI’s social media for award recipient features in the coming weeks.

Office of the Vice-President (Research and International)
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON, K1S 5B6, Canada
View Map
Phone: 613-520-7838